For the children’s development and learning we are guided by the Early Years Foundations Stage (EYFS 2014). The EYFS sets the standard that all childcare providers must ensure that children learn and develop and are kept healthy and safe.


The overarching principles of EYFS are:

•Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning;

•Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships;

•Children learn and develop in enabling environments;

•Children learn and develop in different ways and at different rates.


There are seven areas of learning that shape our educational programme:

•Communication and language

•Physical development


•Personal, social and emotional development


•Understanding the world

•Expressive arts and design



We assess how young children are learning and developing by observing them frequently.


The Progress Check at Age Two

The EYFS requires that we supply parents with a short written summary of their child’s development in three prime areas of learning and development: personal, social and emotional development; physical development; and communication and language.


Development & Learning